Reading good substance………..


Psalm 1:2 “Blessed is the man whose……delight is in the law of the LORD, And in His law he meditates day and night.”

Children and I should include even adults, all over our world are devouring Harry Potter books – some of them are 700 pages long! Phew! Her detective novel, “The Cuckoo’s Calling’ though penned by another person is actually her ‘baby’ and once the news broke out, the books sold out like hot cakes!  They say that she has astute, sharp business brain and is a marvelous marketing genius; whatever, the devil is all out spewing poison into the brains of the kids. To get kids hugely crazy over books that are 700 pages long, is nothing short of magic – I would add demonic!  I wish they would read Geography that way! Ah! I’m sure, kids would hurl rocks on me when they get to read this piece of mine! That’s okay! Now please don’t check out because I’ve said something you disagree with!  Let’s understand the trick of the enemy in filling our mind with garbage rather than the Truth!

Anything that is surreal, out of the ordinary and titillating catches the eye and people dwell deep into it.  I was ministering to a family, where the mother was suffering from kidney failure and she was actually sinking.  The moment I sowed the seed of ‘Jesus’, the devil was swift and he sent a book to them through a friend, written by a ‘dead spirit’, where actually the author….I’m sorry, the dead spirit encourages people who are suffering from terminal disease and tells them that there is no death and they could be better off in rebirth.  The family rejected the Bible and embraced the lie of the devil; shortly the woman died.  After two years, I received a call from the husband and he said, ‘I don’t wish to live, I want to join my wife.’  The Bible says, ‘ the devil comes to steal, kill and destroy!’  (John 10:10)  How true! We fall for the devil’s nostrum and his dexterous lie because we look for quick-fix remedy rather than read His Word, analyze, check, change and amend our lives.  Are you listening?

    It is sad that 75 percent of Christians have not read the entire 66 books of the Bible.
    Most of them hardly know the names.
    I find some of them digging into the Old Testament when I am preaching from New Testament- most of them are elderly woman.  Sad! Very sad!
    Diligence, commitment and determination is required in reading the Bible.

Let’s get passionate about His Word and encourage kids to attend Sunday School and get the Word impregnated into them while they are small so that they don’t deviate from the Truth.

During my initial days of my fresh encounter with Jesus, I remember, while my son Joshua was an infant, I would cradle him in my lap and read the Word through the night and at times until the wee hours of the day.  The next day, I would preach the revelation that God gives me, to my colleagues in the bank where I worked.  My eyes would be red and puffed up with lack of sleep; yet my spirit was elated and people were blessed around me; eventually, God made me a writer, preacher and teacher.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment